The Department allows sociology majors to take courses in other disciplines or programs of interest to them. Currently the Department lets students do minor courses in 14 other programs, including Accounting, Anthropology, Demography, Economics, English, French, Geography, History, Management, Mass Communication (Print & Broadcast Journalism), Political Science, Primary Education, Public Administration, and Secondary Education. Courses are selected in light of their relevancy to sociology. Students are advised to liaise with the respective departments when selecting courses in their minor areas.

Students majoring in other disciplines are allowed to take some sociology courses for their minors as well. The Student Course Guide contains detailed information on both the minor programs and the sociology courses that students can do for their minor courses.